Roffey named 2011 Spurrell Medallist

Roffey named 2011 Spurrell Medallist

On 12 November the Ottawa Swans Steve Spurrell Medal Awards Night took place. The evening was a splendid way to round out a successful year for the club. 

 The team’s outstanding contributors were recognized for their seasons and the players were given an opportunity to thank their supporters who do much of the behind-the-scenes work.

Steve Spurrell Medallist and Most Consistent player – Darren Roffey


For the second consecutive year, club stalwart Darren Roffey was named as the most consistent player in the Swans lineup while being awarded the Steve Spurrell Medal as the club’s best and fairest player. 


Roffey adapted to a new role, playing on the ball in 2011, and relished the opportunity to set up play for his teammates and create avenues to goal time and again. 


Roffey sealed the award with best-on ground performances in the final two games of the season, of which Round 13 was his 50th match for the club and brought the Swans their first away win of the year. 


Runner-Up – Blake Hurley


A new recruit from Western Australia, Blake Hurley was a fearless competitor playing on the ball for the Swans. His experience and drive to succeed set a wonderful example for his young teammates in all the games he played.  


Best Canadian – Mike Kozlowski and Jay Goldhawk

 The award for Best Canadian was shared by two players who had outstanding seasons in defence for the Swans. 


Mike Kozlowski dominated a number of games from centre half-back, where his size, speed and skill overwhelmed his often very experienced opponents. 


Jay Goldhawk was a model of consistency – regularly beating his direct opponent and creating play for his teammates further up the ground.


Most Improved – Mike Kozlowski


Mike Kozlowski was a standout winner as the most improved Ottawa Swan in 2011. He realized his full potential and became a true onfield leader for the team. 


Leading Goal Kicker – Ryan Gregory


After a pre-season interrupted by injury, Ryan Gregory adapted to a new role in the forward line in 2011. An imposing marking target, he was a consistent threat in front of goals and kicked truly on many occasions to win the award for leading goal kicker. 


Coach’s Award – David Martin


Ever the perfectionist, David Martin took upon a personal challenge to improve every area of his game. Working with the coaching staff week-in and week-out, David constantly identified areas for improvement, both for himself and the betterment of the club. After a strong pre-season, David stuck to his work ethic and delivered stellar results in every round of the season.


Rookie of the Year – Tom Delaney


Tom Delaney proved to be one of the league’s premier ruckman in just his first season of Australian football. The lanky Irishman continually beat his opponent and dominated taps, round after round. Tom’s ability to win the ball out of stoppages was a key to the Swan’s late-season success and will be a major pillar for the Swans to build upon in the upcoming season.


Club Person of the Year – Benjamin Birt


Benjamin Birt has graciously volunteered an incomprehensible number of hours to the club. Ben served as “Mr. Do-It-All” throughout the season; organizing road trips, assisting with ground preparation and consistently assisting the club, week-in and week-out. Ben was an invaluable member of the Commission and most notably established the inaugural season of the Swans’ Indoor Metro League. The club thanks Ben for all his hard work!


OAFL All-Star – Chris Peck


To be recognized by your opponents in the game footy is a great honour. Chris Peck was awarded for his hard work and constant pursuit of the ball by being voted to the 2011 OAFL All-Star team by his peers. Chris has proven himself a feared on-baller throughout the league and continues to be a Swan’s stalwart.


Congratulations to all award winners and to the entire Swans team for a hard fought 2011 season.

 You May Also Like…

26/06/2012 Wildcats claw Swans

26/06/2012 Wildcats claw SwansComing off their first win of the season, the Ottawa Swans Australian Football Club were...

Swans victorious over Eagles

Swans victorious over EaglesAfter four rounds of the Ontario Australian Football League, the Ottawa Swans returned...