Swans announce 2012 captains

The Ottawa Swans have established a new look to their leadership group for the 2012 season. The Swans’ 2010 and 2011 Best and Fairest, Darren Roffey, has been handed the reins for the 2012 season and takes over from Ryan Gregory as team captain. “Darren has been the most consistent Swan for the past few seasons and has always exhibited the qualities that we look for when naming leaders in this club. His commitment to the club and his fellow teammates is second to none and his play speaks for itself,” noted Head Coach Chris MacLean. 

Darren and the entire squad will be well support by vice captains, Jay Goldhawk and Michael Kozlowski. Assistant coach, Marc Magierowicz, “Jay showed tremendous capabilities as vice captain in 2011 and will build on this experience in 2012. He’s someone his teammates and coaches look to for guidance and motivation.  Mike caught the eye of the coaches at the tail end of 2011 and has really stepped up his leadership in 2012. Both Mike and Jay’s maturity and patience will be welcome while we develop our relatively inexperienced squad.”
Kudos to Darren, Jay and Mike on these appointments. The club has the utmost confidence that this group will meet the high standards set for this distinguised group.


 You May Also Like…

26/06/2012 Wildcats claw Swans

26/06/2012 Wildcats claw SwansComing off their first win of the season, the Ottawa Swans Australian Football Club were...

Swans victorious over Eagles

Swans victorious over EaglesAfter four rounds of the Ontario Australian Football League, the Ottawa Swans returned...